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AS REQUIRED BY F.S. 489.103(7) 

 

 
Florida Statutes are quoted in part for your information to indicate the authority for exemptions for 

homeowners from qualifying as contractors and to express any applicable restrictions and responsibilities. 

 

 

OWNERS MUST PERSONALLY APPEAR AT THE BUILDING DEPARTMENT TO 

SIGN THIS DOCUMENT. 

 
BY SIGNING THIS STATEMENT/AFFIDAVIT, I ATTEST THAT: ( Initial to the left of each statement ) 

 

_______ I understand that state law requires construction to be done by a licensed contractor and have applied for 

 an owner-builder permit under an exemption from the law.  The exemption specifies that I, as the owner of the 

 property listed, may act as my own contractor with certain restrictions even though I do not have a license. 

 

_______ I understand that building permits are not required to be signed by a property owner unless he or she is 

responsible for the construction and is not hiring a licensed contractor to assume responsibility. 

 

_______ I understand that, as an owner-builder, I am the responsible party of record on a permit.  I understand that I 

may protect myself from potential financial risk by hiring a licensed contractor and having the permit filed in 

his or her name instead of my name.  I also understand that a contractor is required by law to be licensed in 

Florida, and to list his or her license numbers on all permit applications and contracts. 

 

_______ I understand that I may build or improve a one or two-family residence or a farm outbuilding.  I may also build 

or improve a commercial building if the costs do not exceed $75,000.  The building or residence must be for my 

own use or occupancy.  It may not be built or improved for sale or lease.  If a building or residence that I have 

built or improved myself is sold or leased within 1 year after the construction is complete, the law will presume 

that I built or improved it for sale or lease, which is a violation of this exemption. 

 

_______ I understand that, as the owner-builder, I must provide direct, onsite supervision of the construction. 

 

_______ I understand that I may not hire an unlicensed individual to act as my contractor or to supervise persons 

working on my building or residence.  It is my responsibility to ensure that the persons whom I employ have the 

licenses required by law.  

 

_______ I understand that it is a frequent practice of unlicensed persons to have the property owner obtain an owner-

builder permit that erroneously implies that the property owner is providing his or her own labor and materials.  

I, as an owner-builder, may be held liable and subjected to serious financial risk for any injuries sustained by an 

unlicensed person or his or her employees while working on the property.  My homeowners insurance may not 

provide coverage for those injuries.  I am willfully acting as an owner-builder and am aware of the limits of my 

insurance coverage for injuries to workers on my property. 

 

_______ I understand that I may not delegate the responsibility for supervising work to a licensed contractor who is not 

licensed to perform the work being permitted.  Any person working on my building who is not licensed must 

work under my direct supervision and must be employed by me, which means I must comply with laws 

requiring the withholding of federal income tax and social security contributions under the Federal Insurance 

Contributions Act (FICA), and must provide workers’ compensation for the employee.  I understand that my 

failure to follow these laws may  subject me to serious financial risk. 

 

_______ I agree that, as the party legally and financially responsible for this proposed construction activity, I will abide 

by all applicable laws and requirements that govern owner-builders as well as employers.  I also understand that 

the construction must comply with all applicable laws, ordinances, building codes, and zoning regulations. 

 

_______ I am aware of construction practices and I have access to the Florida Building Codes. 
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_______ I understand that I may obtain more information regarding my obligations as an employer from the Internal 

Revenue Service, the United States Small Business Administration, the Florida Department of Financial 

Services, and the Florida Department of Revenue.  I also understand that I may contact the Florida 

Construction Industry Licensing Board at 1-850-487-1395, or at www.myflorida.com/dbpr/pro/cilb for more 

information about licensed contractors. 

 

_______ I am aware of, and consent to, an owner-builder building permit applied for in my name and understand that I 

am the party legally and financially responsible for the proposed construction activity at the address listed 

below. 

 

_______ I agree to notify the Building Department immediately of any additions, deletions, or changes to any of the 

information that I have provided on this disclosure or in the permit application package. 

 

_______ Licensed contractors are regulated by laws designed to protect the public.  If I contract with a person who does 

not have a license, the Construction Industry Licensing Board, the Department of Business and Professional 

Regulation and the Building Department may be unable to assist me with any financial loss that I sustain as a 

result of a complaint.  My only remedy against an unlicensed contractor may be in civil court.  It is also 

important for me to understand that, if an unlicensed contractor or employee of an individual or firm is injured 

while working on my property, I may be held liable for damages.  If I obtain an owner-builder permit and wish 

to hire a licensed contractor, I will be responsible for verifying whether the contractor is properly licensed and 

the status of the contractor’s workers’ compensation coverage. 

 

 

Property Address: ____________________________________________________________ 

 

 

I, do hereby state that I am qualified and capable of performing the requested construction involved with the permit 

application filed and agree to the conditions specified above. 
 

 

 

_____________________________________   Title: ______________________________ 
Signature 
 
______________________________________ 
Print Name 
 

 

 

STATE OF _______________________ 
COUNTY OF _____________________ 
 
The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me on this ______ day of _____________, 
2011, by ____________________________________________, who is personally known to 
me or who has produced ____________________________________ as identification and who 
did not take an oath. 
 
 
Notary Public _________________________  SEAL: 
 
Type/print name ____________________ 
 

 

 

A violation of this exemption is a misdemeanor of the 1
st
 degree punishable by a term of 

imprisonment not exceeding 1 year, and a $1,000 fine in addition to any civil penalties.  In 

addition, the local permitting jurisdiction shall withhold final approval, revoke the permit, 

or pursue any action or remedy for unlicensed activity against the owner and any person 

performing work that requires licensure under the permit issued.  
 

 

http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr/pro/cilb

